Study Nursing in Australia - Nepcoms Services



EN’s undertake an 18 month or 2 year course at TAFE or related Health Facilities to achieve a Diploma in Enrolled Nursing. An Enrolled Nurse is a second level nurse who provides nursing care, working under the direction and supervision of a Registered Nurse. The supervision may be direct or indirect according to the nature of the work delegated to the enrolled nurse. The enrolled nurse (EN) is an associate to the registered nurse (RN) who demonstrates competence in the provision of patient-centred care as specified by the registering authority’s licence to practise, educational preparation and context of care. Core (not minimum)EN practice requires the EN to work under the direction and supervision of the RN as stipulated by AHPRA. At all times, the EN retains responsibility for his/her actions and remains accountable in providing delegated nursing care.

Registered Nurses

Registered Nurses (RN) have:

Three years study/training at University and Health Facility to achieve a Bachelor Degree in Health Science (Nursing) or Bachelor Degree in Nursing.

High level of accountability and more responsibility than EN or AIN Regulated by the Nurses and Midwives Board. Roles may include administration, team leader or unit manager duties, medication administration, assessment and management of the client including complex nursing care, specialised nursing care or undertaking research. An RN is a person with appropriate educational preparation and competence for practice, who is registered and licensed under the appropriate Nursing Act to practise nursing in Australia.

Overseas Registered Nurse

The Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) is a new national agency established to improve the quality and safety of Australia’s health services through a modernised national regulatory system for health professionals. AHPRA has an office in each State and Territory responsible for the majority of operational matters and a national office in Melbourne. AHPRA reports to a Ministerial Council. AHPRA supports the operations of the national boards for each profession covered by the scheme, and the State and Territory boards and committees established by the national boards.
ANMAC’s Skilled Migration Services assesses the skills of nurses and midwives who want to migrate to Australia under the General Skilled Migration program. We determine if an applicant has the nursing or midwifery qualifications and experience needed for permanent migration to Australia. ANMAC is the independent assessing authority authorised by law to conduct these assessments by the Department of Immigration and Border Protection and Department of Education and Training.

Need to Talk to Us